What Are the Schengen States?

Understanding which states belong to the Schengen Area could greatly affect your next European vacation. Specifically, knowing the Schengen states can save you a ton of hassle when it comes to your visa and travel costs.

For this reason, let’s take an in-depth look at what the Schengen states are. 

What Are the Schengen States?

Let’s start with the basics. Namely, what are the Schengen states? Collectively, the term “Schengen” refers to the area of 26 European states that share lax border laws and entry requirements. The area, which was formed in 1985, allows citizens living in the region to move freely across national borders. 

Schengen States
Credits: Schengen Visa Info

There are over 400 million residents of the Schengen states, many of whom move across international borders. The Schengen Area makes it easier to transport international goods and enhances the area’s trade.

The Schengen states collectively form one large travel zone, where foreign travelers can travel freely with a single visa. For this reason, it’s important to know which states are included in the Schengen states so you can make your next vacation more convenient and rewarding. 

Who Is Included in the Schengen States?

With this being said, which nations are included in the Schengen states? Overall, there are twenty-six nations, twenty-two of whom participate in the Schengen Area. Let’s take a brief look at the twenty-six different Schengen states: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Liechtenstein

What Does This Mean for You?

So what does all this have to do with your next vacation? It’s simple. The Schengen Area not only makes it easier for citizens of the region to travel across international borders, but it also streamlines your visa experience.

In essence, travelers can apply for a single Schengen Visa that will allow them to travel throughout the twenty-six different nations without issue. This means that you don’t have to spend extra money buying several different visas for your next European vacation. 

Schengen Visa
Credits: Schengen Visa Info

This means that you can visit more countries and do more over your trip. With the money you save in visa fees, you’ll be able to extend your vacation and see more classic European sites. 

Specifically, foreigners are eligible for single-entry, double-entry, and multiple-entry visas that can be valid for a period of up to five years. If you choose a five-year visa, however, keep in mind that you cannot stay for more than ninety total days in any one-hundred-and-eighty day time span. 

The Bottom Line

The Schengen states are members of a wider geopolitical region that allow for cheaper, barrier free travel across international borders. Travelers who seek to visit this region in Europe can experience cheaper travel and less hassle when it comes to their visa fees. 

If you’re planning a trip to any one of the twenty-six nations listed above, consider taking advantage of its Schengen status and expanding your trip to nearby states that will accept the same visa. 

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Comment